android
Android sabreW4K3 11h ago 90%

Minimum Keyboard Is Dead Dead

I've long been a super fan of Minuum Keyboard. I backed the IndieGoGo campaign and then bought it when it was officially released for Android. It's been my daily driver for 11 years.

Everyone has different wants and needs for a keyboard and I was lucky to find mine met in Minuum.

I had this powerful computer in my pocket and felt that it should compute at all times and make my life easier. The sloppy typing model did that for me. I never understood why people wanted a keyboard to replicate that of a typewriter and take up all that real estate, keyboards were supposed to get out of the way, not take up more room.

I dreamed about the machine learning algorithm improving to the point that I would never ever need to open it up to full mode, but when they should've been making improvements in that regard, they started trying to make emoji keyboards.

Unfortunately they couldn't make the company profitable in a way that could sustain them and pay the backers and it fell into disrepair.

Still I persisted. The unparalleled typing speed and efficiency was out of this world and that's all I wanted. An experience designed for mobile that excelled at mobile.

Unfortunately with Android 15 and no update since 2017 I believe, it's now time to say goodbye. The bottom row is inaccessible in the latest iteration of Android.

There was some brief hope last year when one of the developers promised an update should they get time to clean up the code, but it never came to fruition.

The downfall of Minuum was that people prefer familiarity and that sucks as it was a glimpse of the future or what the future could be.

Burn the pyre!

End the stream Dave!

17
6
Comments 6