"Initials" by "Florian Körner", licensed under "CC0 1.0". / Remix of the original. - Created with dicebear.comInitialsFlorian Körnerhttps://github.com/dicebear/dicebearAI
AITAH bot 1y ago 100%

AITAH for refusing to drive my parents to visit my brother, who is in prison?

This is an automated archive made by the Lemmit Bot.

The original was posted on /r/aitah by /u/anonymous072023 on 2023-07-02 16:01:54+00:00.


Adding this to my post: My brother is in prison for killing a stranger. He and 2 of his friends were planning to rob my brother's employer. When they were talking about it they thought they were alone. They were not and my brother thought the woman they saw was nearby heard them talking. My brother killed her to stop her from reporting them. The woman was deaf and wouldn't have known what they were saying.

My brother is in prison. My parents live as close to the prison as they can afford to. They would live closer if they could but it's more expensive. They visit him as often as is allowed. Sometimes they take bus that has other people who are also going to visit someone in prison. That bus trip is put together by a support group for people with loved ones in prison. Now that bus trip doesn't run as often as my brother is allowed visits. The rest of the time my parents have to take a trip on public transit that involves multiple transfers and lots of waiting time. Those trips are also expensive. My parents can't afford to own or rent a vehicle and rely on public transit for everything.

My parents say these trips are getting harder and more uncomfortable as they get older. The prison group bus trip is hard but at least there are no transfers or waiting and the bus has more comfortable seats and temperature control than public transit. It's the trips on public transit that are hard for them. They asked me to start driving them to and from the prison on days when visitation is scheduled and the prison group bus isn't doing a trip. They say my vehicle would be more comfortable and that they would also be able to stop for bathroom breaks and food.

The drive without stopping is 5 hours one way if traffic is normal. I would have to wake up earlier than I do when I am working the early shift. I wouldn't get home until late at night. Some days I would be working so I would either have to use one of my days off or take an unpaid day. If I am working the late shift I would not get much sleep the night before because I don't get home from work until late. There is also the costs to me for this which my parents would not pay. The prison is not close to anything so while they are visiting I would either have to sit in my car for all those hours or drive the closest towns which are small with not much to do. My parents want me to drive them every time there is visitation for my brother and the prison group bus isn't going. I don't want to do it some of the time. I don't want to do it at all and I told my parents I'm not doing it ever.

My parents are angry at me now. They argue that if I don't do it they will only be able to visit my brother 1/3 of the time he has visitation. I don't want to do what they are asking even the odd time or some of the time. I said I'm not doing it even one time. Even if they get to visit my brother less there are still letters and phone calls. My brother is allowed both of those things. They will still get to visit him, just not as often. My parents say it isn't enough because no one else visits/writes/calls my brother except for the 2 of them. AITAH for saying I won't do what they are asking ever? I don't even want to do it once, much less regularly. If they want to waste their time on this that's fine however I want no part of it. My parents are my only family and they using that to try to convince me to do this? AITAH?

1
1
Comments 1